Resources for Veterans

Database of Americans interred at our World War I and World War II cemeteries overseas; missing in action from World War I and World War II; War dead and veterans of the Mexican War, Civil War and Spanish-American War; missing in action of the Korean and Vietnam Wars.; all interments at Corozal American Cemetery, including civilians who built and operated the Panama Canal.

The purposes and objects of the Arkansas Air & Military Museum are to establish and maintain a museum for the public display of aircraft, aviation artifacts and military memorabilia form the earliest period to the present with special attention to items related to the state of Arkansas.

Google search showing Civil War cemeteries in the state of Arkansas.

The mission of the Arkansas National Guard Museum is to collect information and artifacts relating to the Arkansas National Guard and its militia predecessor and relating to Camp Robinson and its predecessor Camp Pike, and to make that information, those artifacts and the Yeater collection available to the public and to posterity.

The Butler Center for Arkansas Studies has initiated "The Arkansas Vietnam War Project" to document Arkansas's role in the war and preserve materials from the period. We want to ensure that these materials are preserved for educators, researchers, and family members to help future generations understand more about the war and our veterans' experiences in it. If you are a Vietnam War veteran, or you have memories you want to share about the war, please contact us.

The Korean War has often been overshadowed by other conflicts, such as World War II and the Vietnam War. Much of the history of the war exists only in the memories and mementos of its veterans. Approximately 6,300 Arkansans served in the war, including six who received the Congressional Medal of Honor. The Butler Center for Arkansas Studies is gathering Arkansas-related Korean War materials to preserve this important history.

This collection contains application forms for headstones for deceased members and veterans of the U.S. armed services. Applications were made between 1925 and 1963, but they include veterans in conflicts going back to the Revolutionary War.

Honor States is dedicated to presenting vital achievements, recognition, affiliations, awards, and images that honor fallen U.S. service members. Our public access archive now sustains 513,143 individual tributes, including 85,192 vivid images and over 6,500 soldiers from Arkansas.

The Jacksonville Museum of Military History in Jacksonville (Pulaski County) sits on the original grounds of the World War II–era Arkansas Ordnance Plant (AOP) administration building and is located twenty minutes north of downtown Little Rock (Pulaski County), just off of Highway 67/167. The museum explores significant war and home-front activities dating from the Civil War through the Cold War, and also includes current and ongoing military engagements.

The MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History was created to interpret our state's military heritage from its territorial period to the present. It preserves the contributions of Arkansas men and women who served in the armed forces. Exhibits feature artifacts, photographs, weapons, documents, uniforms and other military items that vividly portray Arkansas's military history at home and abroad.

Recipients come from all five branches of service: Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, and Coast Guard. Each listing contains the name of the recipient, rank, organization, and personal information when possible, although some are incomplete. Citations become lengthier and more detailed after World War I, but all are highly descriptive of why the recipient was awarded our nation's highest award for military valor.

This Museum of Veterans and Military History, located in Vilonia, Arkansas, is not only about veterans and their past service but it incorporates veterans, as much as possible, into the daily operational process of the museum. As a vital component supporting its mission, the Museum of Veterans and Military History has acquired collections, set up exhibitions and is performing research using volunteers with abilities in the research field.

Find National Cemeteries with this facility locator tool.

Search for burial locations of veterans and their family members in VA National Cemeteries, state veterans cemeteries, various other military and Department of Interior cemeteries, and for veterans buried in private cemeteries when the grave is marked with a government grave marker.

On March 7-8, 1862, over 23,000 soldiers fought here to decide the fate of Missouri and was a turning point of the war in the West. The 4,300 acre battlefield honors those who fought and died on these grounds. Pea Ridge was the most pivotal Civil War battle west of the Mississippi River and is one of the most intact Civil War battlefields in the United States.

In addition to requesting your own records and replacing lost medals and rewards, you research older military records and browse WWII photos.

A collection of first-hand accounts of U.S. veterans from WWI to the Iraq War. Many items have been digitized. Search by conflict, era, branch of service, and more.