Using the Archives
Archives & Special Collections is located on the seventh floor of the Dean B. Ellis Library. Our Special Collections contain published items, mostly books, with ties to Arkansas. Most of our special collection books have been cataloged and are accessible through the library’s online system. Our Archives contains rare and unique items with regional and local ties, such as the personal papers of local politicians. Some of the items in our Archives only exist in our library. Many of the Archives’ manuscript collections are currently unprocessed, but they will be made publicly available once physical and intellectual control has been accomplished. Researchers are advised to contact us to discuss collection availability before they visit.
Generally, these items and collections are available to members of the ASU community and other researchers who are at least eighteen years of age. Patrons must complete a registration form and present current photographic identification in order to use the collections. Because some of the materials are fragile, their use may be restricted.
HOURS AND LOCATION
9am - 12pm & 1pm - 4pm,
by appointment only.
at least 24 hours in advance
for an appointment.
To ensure public safety during COVID-19, only one visitor is allowed in Archives at a time.
7th Floor, A-State Library
7th floor - Non-Circulating Materials
Archive and Special Collection materials are non-circulating. They are for use only in the Archives research space, and must remain on the 7th floor. This helps to preserve and protect our unique items. Please contact Archive-L@astate.edu for an appointment and let us know what material(s) ou would like to see.