Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections

This is the home page for Archives & Special Collections, Dean B. Ellis Library, 7th Floor, Arkansas State University

Planning Your Visit

Our staff is committed to provide supervised access to the collections that are ready for public use. The materials may be fragile, rare, irreplaceable, or otherwise in need of protection, so they cannot be checked out and must be used in our reading room. This room is reserved exclusively for individuals using material from our collections.

  1. Please email Archive-L@astate.edu in advance (24 hours preferred) to schedule an available appointment time. We require a completed Researcher Registration form from all visitors before any material will be provided. These forms expire on June 30. A new form should be refiled each year.
     
  2. Lockers are available to secure your personal belongings during your visit (cell phones, jackets, bags, etc.). Pencils and scratch paper are available at the reading room service desk. 
     
  3. For collection security, our shelves are closed to public browsing. To request material, complete a Materials Request Form for EACH title, volume, or archival collection. Present the forms to the reading room staff, and they will retrieve the material you would like to see.
     
  4. In some cases when originals whose physical condition or format makes them unusable, staff will provide you with an access copy.
     
  5. Archives and Special Collections staff are not able to conduct research for you. Online information requests may be possible depending upon staff availability. Contact Archive-L@astate.edu to inquire.
     
  6. We strictly adhere to copyright law when filling duplication requests. Proper citations will be provided if your research will be used or referenced in papers, reports, or other non-personal endeavors. Be aware that Archive and Special Collection staff are not qualified to give legal advice.

HOURS AND LOCATION

9am - 12pm & 1pm - 4pm,
Monday-Friday

by appointment only.

Please email 
at least 24 hours in advance
for an appointment.


To ensure public safety during COVID-19, only one visitor is allowed in Archives at a time.
 

  322 University Loop,
          Jonesboro, AR 72467

7th Floor  7th Floor, A-State Library

  Archive-L@astate.edu 

   (870) 972-2960

A-State Archives Facebook    A-State Archives Facebook

Online payments for
printing, copying, and scanning:

Archives & Special Collections Marketplace

Please contact us at
archive-l@astate.edu
for duplication costs.