Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections

This is the home page for Archives & Special Collections, Dean B. Ellis Library, 7th Floor, Arkansas State University

About Archives & Special Collections

After accepting and cataloging manuscripts and special collections for more than twenty-five years, Arkansas State University formally opened its archives in 1997. Today the archives focuses on collecting, preserving, and making accessible to students and researchers the documentary history and heritage of Northeastern Arkansas. More specifically, we concentrate on the demographic and economic transformations occurring throughout this region during the twentieth century.

The archive holds collections related to the agricultural and political history of Northeast Arkansas. Important collections in these areas include the papers of Congressmen “Took” Gathings and Marion Berry and the records of the Judd Hill Plantation. The archive also collects the history of Arkansas State University and seeks collections that support the university’s growing research emphasis. It is our intent to complement rather than replicate specific collecting emphases at other repositories in the state. We do not, therefore, develop collections that support genealogic research or the study of the American Civil War.

Special collections maintained by the archive include the Cass S. Hough Aeronautical Collection, which has been described as the single most valuable collection of aviation materials in private hands; an outstanding collection of Lois Lenski books for children; collections of notable Arkansas authors Charlie May Simon, Lois Snelling, Faith Yingling Knoop, and John Gould Fletcher; an Arkansas Collection; and Arkansas State University publications.

Our Mission

Archives & Special Collections are unique elements of the teaching library. By assembling, preserving, making accessible, and exhibiting the documentary heritage of Northeast Arkansas, we advance the university community's pursuit, development, and sharing of knowledge.

Staff

Natasha Margulis

Natasha Margulis
Digital & Political Collections Archivist
 

Malissa Davis

Malissa Davis
Library Technician
 

April Sheppard

April Sheppard
Assistant Library Director
Interim Head of Archives