LibGuides: Archives & Special Collections: Manuscript Collections

Manuscript Collection

The manuscript Collections consists of Arkansas author’s draft of books, short stories, poems, and other work submitted for publication. Click on the link to see the finding aids of our collections. Collections are arranged alphabetically by surname.

Bufford, Ben, Manuscripts, Short Stories and Poems Ben Bufford was an English teacher at Jonesboro High School in Arkansas and Madera High School in California who wrote numerous poems. He also wrote manuscripts for several short stories and novels. This collection consists of manuscripts of the various literary works of Ben Bufford.
Knoop, Faith Yingling, Manuscripts and Short Stories, 1942-1970 Faith Yingling Knoop was a prolific children's author who wrote several children's novels, including four in Garrard Publishing Company’s "A World Explorer" series. She also wrote numerous short stories and articles for juvenile and women's publications. This collection contains manuscripts and correspondence pertaining to the four books from the “A World Explorer” series along with additional manuscripts for some of her works and published short stories.
Simon, Charlie May, Manuscripts and Correspondence, 1940s-1979 Charlie May Simon was one of Arkansas’s most prolific authors, having written over twenty-seven (27) books ranging from children’s novels to biographies on contemporary figures. In honor of Simon’s works, the Arkansas Department of Education named their children’s literature award after her in 1971. This collection consists of a select number of manuscripts and notes pertaining to her biographical works.
Snelling, Lois, Poems and Manuscripts, 1963-1970 Lois Snelling was a poet and author of numerous poems, four novels, and one biography. Several of her poems won awards from literary circles in Arkansas and Texas. This collection contains a select number of poems and manuscripts by Lois Snelling.

Using Our Collections

If you are interested in accessing one of our collections, please contact us at archives@astate.edu to let us know what items you wish to view and schedule an appointment to use our reading room. We also ask that you complete a Researcher Registration form prior to your appointment. Allow for a minimum of 24 hours to retrieve items.

Due to the condition and nature of some of our materials, their use and access may be restricted. Please review our Guidelines and Procedures before your visit. All unprocessed collections are not available to researchers.

Commercial Use of Archives & Special Collections Materials

Archives & Special Collections needs a minimum of 6 to 8 weeks to work through licensing any Archives & Special Collections media and material for commercial use.