Free Online Databases: Alabama - Georgia

This database was created by staff and volunteers from the entries in the 131 volumes of the 1867 Voter Registration Records maintained by the Alabama Department of Archives and History (ADAH).

This database is being developed from the Gold Star files of World War I Alabama service people who died during the war or who had been awarded distinguished service recognition. The amount of information concerning each individual varies greatly.

Must create a free account with Ancestry.com to access the database.

Anyone researching ancestors who spent time in the Alabama state prison system between 1889 and 1954 should find this database invaluable. Must create a free account to access the database.

Note: Names are often inconsistently spelled so different searches may be required.

This index represents 6,045 files created in the courts of Juneau, Petersburg, Skagway, Wrangell, Nome and Cordova, 1900-1929. Use Ctrl+F to search this PDF document for specific names.

17,000 probate cases from Alaska's early court system. Use Ctrl+F to search this document for specific names.

Use Ctrl+F to search this PDF document for specific names.

Index that includes groom name, bride name, marriage date, city, and county.

Search births that occurred at least 75 years ago and deaths that occurred at least 50 years ago.

Database containing records of baptisms, marriages and burials from the late seventeenth century to the mid-nineteenth century for the Pimería Alta missions of southern Arizona and northern Sonora, Mexico.

Index that includes groom name, bride name, marriage date, city, and county.

Contains names, county info, and admittance date for the Arkansas Confederate Home.

This collection is composed of the records collected by the State Board between 1891 and 1939 and was obtained from the State Auditor's Office.

This site can be used to search and order Arkansas death certificates from 1935-1961. Results include name, state of birth, county of death, date of death, and mother's name.

Info includes name, county, birthplace, and reason for discharge.

Index that includes names, port, ship, date of arrival, year of birth, gender, and country of birth for immigrants arriving in either Hawaii or San Francisco.

Index that includes groom name, bride name, marriage date, city, and county.

The Archives Search is an online database that is searchable by name, record type, and time span.

List of searchable genealogy collections from the Denver Public Library. Too many collections to name. Search them all at once or individually.

Index that includes groom name, bride name, marriage date, city, and county.

An online repository for more than 400 million searchable names covering New England, New York, and beyond.

Transcribed indexes divided by county.

The Deceased Veterans Discharge Files, 1882-1936, consists of approximately 2300 veterans' files from the Fitch's Home for Soldiers. Although the veterans listed served primarily in the Civil War, a few Spanish American veterans are included.

Pension application files from veterans of the Civil War and Spanish American War.

A miscellany of manuscripts and documents published by the Connecticut State Library containing vital records indexes.

The Warrants of Commitment, 1800-1903, contain the name of the prisoner, any known aliases, the crime, sentence, court, and date of incarceration.

**Index only. Scan of originals can be ordered for a fee.

A list of registered voters in Sussex County, arranged by voting district. This shows the name, age, town of residence, nation or state of origin, and length of residence in state, county, and voting district. This PDF has been made searchable by a person's name.

Browse through scanned Civil War documents included muster rolls, lists of enlistees, lists of killed and wounded, and paroled Union prisoners.

Service records for Delawareans who died in World War II.

Joseph Barker was a general merchant whose store and home was located at Barkers Landing. His “Negro Ledger A”, the volume contains entries for purchases made by his African-American customers. Each entry notes the name of customer, date of purchase, items purchased, cost for each item, date and amount paid, and how paid. Often bills were paid with grain, other items, or labor.

A small collection of naturalization petitions for New Castile County, Delaware.

Over a 1,000 letters written by Vietnam soldiers to their families at home.

The pension application files include both veterans' and widows' applications. The veteran's application generally includes his full name, date and place of birth, unit of service, date and place of enlistment, date and place of discharge, brief description of service and/or wounds, proof of service, place and length of residence in Florida, as well as other miscellaneous documentation.

This collection consists of applications for admission to the Florida Old Confederate Soldiers and Sailors Home, including a small amount of supporting documentation attesting to the veracity of the applicant's claim.

The grants provide information on the settlement and cultivation of Florida during the Second Spanish Period (1783-1821) and the Territorial Period (1821-1845). Grantees had to provide the following information: description of land granted; date of grant; size of grant; property boundaries; and proof of residency and cultivation.

For each person, the cards provide name; age; serial number; race; place of birth; and residence at time of entering service. Some cards also provide the organizations/ships served (with dates of beginning and transfer); engagements; wounds/injuries sustained in action; time served overseas; discharge notations; and general remarks. The Navy cards note the sailor's rate as well as rank.

Can search all the collections at once or choose individual collections. Includes military, vital, photographs, letters, and other historical records.

Documents, encluding enlistment oaths, oaths of allegiance, discharges, and pay records, from troops recruited by the State of Georgia, either before the units were turned over to Confederate service outside of Georgia, or for units intended for service only within the state. 

The majority of the company muster rolls in this series are from military organizations created by the State of Georgia during the Civil War for service within the state. These military organizations include the Georgia Army (1861), Georgia State Troops (September 1861- May 1862), the Georgia State Guards (August 1863-February 1864), and the Georgia State Line (1862-1865).

Applications, supporting documentation, and correspondence for indigent or maimed Confederate veterans or indigent widows of Confederate soldiers. 

Applications, supporting documentation, and correspondence for indigent or maimed Confederate veterans or indigent widows of Confederate soldiers.

Georgia Death Certificates from 1919 through 1927. The collection also includes a number of certificates from 1914-1918, with the bulk dating from 1917 and 1918. 

Enrollment Lists of all free white males between sixteen and sixty not serving in Confederate or State service, required under the Act of the Georgia General Assembly for re-organizing the Georgia Militia passed December 14, 1863.

Georgia raised three militia regiments for service in the Spanish-American War (April-December 1898). All three regiments were sworn into service by mid-May, 1898. They were discharged from service on November 18, 1898.

The documentation of every casualty from Georgia in the Great War.

Marriage Records from Microfilm are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.