Free Online Databases: Immigration Records

This collection combines surviving passenger lists for those who arrived during the Castle Garden era with previous New York arrivals (back to 1820) and federal records kept before Ellis Island opened.

The Ellis Island Archive contains the passenger lists of more than 51 million immigrants, passengers, and crew members who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York from 1892 to 1957. Create a free account to access the database.

The site is organized around the original immigrants, usually male, their wives and children. The initial geographical focus of the site is Utah, Idaho, and Wyoming, where information has been collected from manuscript censuses, cemetery records, obituaries, and local historians from the Japanese American community.

A collection of 26 genealogy and personal history databases including immigration records, mortuary records, military records, and more.

Contains the records of over 21,000 passengers who embarked at Glasgow and Greenock for non-European ports between 1 January and 30 April 1923, and at other Scottish ports between 1890 and 1960.

This index represents 6,045 files created in the courts of Juneau, Petersburg, Skagway, Wrangell, Nome and Cordova, 1900-1929. Use Ctrl+F to search this PDF document for specific names.

An online repository for more than 400 million searchable names covering New England, New York, and beyond.

Index that includes names, port, ship, date of arrival, year of birth, gender, and country of birth for immigrants arriving in either Hawaii or San Francisco.

Contains over 34,000 records. Each record includes name and transport date.

While there is a member area, you can search indexes to births, marriages, deaths, naturalizations and church records in New York City and Long Island for free.

Index that includes name, date, country, and record type. Use Ctrl+F to search for specific names.

While there is a member area, you can search indexes to births, marriages, deaths, naturalizations and church records in New York City and Long Island for free.

The information contained in the naturalization records includes name, native city and/or native country, date of record, court of application (county court, circuit court, Supreme Court), and microfilm location for copy of full entry (reel number, volume and page numbers).

A small collection of naturalization petitions for New Castile County, Delaware.

Choose between two lists: alphabetically by passenger or alphabetically by ship. Lists include passenger name, date, ship name, port, and captain's name.

Contains over 212,000 names, giving the county where the declaration of intention (1st papers) was filed and the naturalization occurred (2nd papers), the date of both events, and from what country the person emigrated.

Over one million immigrants came through the Port of Boston during this time period. Search by passenger or ship name. This database will be updated monthly.

Click on "first" or "second" papers to begin search by last name, first name, county, or birth country.

Naturalization records typically include affidavits, reports for naturalization, declarations of intent to become United States citizens, and notices of application for admission of citizenship.

Contains records by county ranging from 1849-1974.