Free Online Databases: Federal Census

**Index only. This was the first national census conducted in the United States. No schedules are known to exist for Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, New Jersey, Tennessee, and Virginia.
Scanned copies of microfilm can be found at https://archive.org/details/1790_census.

**Index only. This was the second national census conducted since 1790.
Scanned copies of microfilm can be found at https://archive.org/details/1800_census.

**Index only. This was the third national census conducted since 1790. No schedules are known to exist for District of Columbia, Georgia, New Jersey, Ohio, and Tennessee.
Scanned copies of microfilm can be found at https://archive.org/details/1810_census.

**Index only. This was the fourth national census conducted since 1790. No schedules are known to exist for New Jersey.
Scanned copies of microfilm can be found at https://archive.org/details/1820_census.

**Index only. This was the fifth national census conducted since 1790.
Scanned copies of microfilm can be found at https://archive.org/details/1830_census.

**Index only. This was the sixth national census conducted since 1790.
Scanned copies of microfilm can be found at https://archive.org/details/1840_census.

This was the seventh census conducted since 1790.

This was the eighth census conducted since 1790. Currently, data is available for Alabama (96%), Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Dakota Territory, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania (99%), Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Name index and images of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1870. This was the ninth census conducted since 1790.

Search or browse over a million pages for free.

Fragments of the US census population schedule exist only for the states of Alabama, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota, and Texas.

The searchable index covers all states including the Armed Forces (foreign country where census occurred) and the Indian Territory.

Indexing is currently in progress and will include the entire census comprising 48 states, two territories (Arizona and New Mexico), Puerto Rico, and Military and Naval (in Philippines, Hospitals, Ships, and Stations).

The 1920 Census with 107.5 million individuals enumerated.

Search million of pages of 1930 Census records.

This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images.