Free Online Databases: Military Records

Database of Americans interred at our World War I and World War II cemeteries overseas; missing in action from World War I and World War II; War dead and veterans of the Mexican War, Civil War and Spanish-American War; missing in action of the Korean and Vietnam Wars.; all interments at Corozal American Cemetery, including civilians who built and operated the Panama Canal.

A collection of 26 genealogy and personal history databases including immigration records, mortuary records, military records, and more.

Search for burial locations of veterans and their family members in VA National Cemeteries, state veterans cemeteries, various other military and Department of Interior cemeteries, and for veterans buried in private cemeteries when the grave is marked with a government grave marker.

The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War.

Large collection of over 2 million pages. Must create a free account to access the database.

Over 600,000 pages of military records. Must create a free account to access the database.

Large collection of nearly 2 million pages. Must create a free account to access the database.

The 15th New York National Guard, also known as the 369th Regiment, was the first African-American regiment of World War I and were part of both World Wars. The Regiment was also nicknamed the “Harlem Hellfighters” and aided in changing the American view on future African-American military members.

This database indexes the 1929 publication, Roll of Honor, which contains the locations of the burial places of soldiers, sailors, marines, and army nurses who served in any of the wars of the United States and are buried in Illinois.

Note: Names are often inconsistently spelled so different searches may be required.

Note: Names are often inconsistently spelled so different searches may be required.

Index of 549 South Dakotans who lost their lives in World War I. Brose by last name, town, and death designation. Takes you to PDFs.

Contains names, county info, and admittance date for the Arkansas Confederate Home.

This collection is composed of the records collected by the State Board between 1891 and 1939 and was obtained from the State Auditor's Office.

Info includes name, county, birthplace, and reason for discharge.

Large PDF file. The Revised Register is arranged by regiment, battery, or other organization, but it also meticulously indexed. Contains personal information about each soldier and sailor, such as: name, unit information, town of residence, period of service, any information about whether they were wounded, killed in action, died in service, as well as information available at the time it was published regarding their residence or death following the war.

Index of over 28,000 names of Union veterans of the Civil War who lived in Kansas after 1865. Includes name, service, residence, and county.

Pension application files from veterans of the Civil War and Spanish American War.

**Index only. Scan of originals can be ordered for a fee.

Service records for Delawareans who died in World War II.

Browse through scanned Civil War documents included muster rolls, lists of enlistees, lists of killed and wounded, and paroled Union prisoners.

The Deceased Veterans Discharge Files, 1882-1936, consists of approximately 2300 veterans' files from the Fitch's Home for Soldiers. Although the veterans listed served primarily in the Civil War, a few Spanish American veterans are included.

The pension application files include both veterans' and widows' applications. The veteran's application generally includes his full name, date and place of birth, unit of service, date and place of enlistment, date and place of discharge, brief description of service and/or wounds, proof of service, place and length of residence in Florida, as well as other miscellaneous documentation.

This collection consists of applications for admission to the Florida Old Confederate Soldiers and Sailors Home, including a small amount of supporting documentation attesting to the veracity of the applicant's claim.

For each person, the cards provide name; age; serial number; race; place of birth; and residence at time of entering service. Some cards also provide the organizations/ships served (with dates of beginning and transfer); engagements; wounds/injuries sustained in action; time served overseas; discharge notations; and general remarks. The Navy cards note the sailor's rate as well as rank.

The web site features a list of those who served with the Fourth South Dakota Infantry during Mexican Border Service. Browse by last name or address. Takes you to PDFs.

Documents, encluding enlistment oaths, oaths of allegiance, discharges, and pay records, from troops recruited by the State of Georgia, either before the units were turned over to Confederate service outside of Georgia, or for units intended for service only within the state. 

The majority of the company muster rolls in this series are from military organizations created by the State of Georgia during the Civil War for service within the state. These military organizations include the Georgia Army (1861), Georgia State Troops (September 1861- May 1862), the Georgia State Guards (August 1863-February 1864), and the Georgia State Line (1862-1865).

Applications, supporting documentation, and correspondence for indigent or maimed Confederate veterans or indigent widows of Confederate soldiers. 

Applications, supporting documentation, and correspondence for indigent or maimed Confederate veterans or indigent widows of Confederate soldiers.

Enrollment Lists of all free white males between sixteen and sixty not serving in Confederate or State service, required under the Act of the Georgia General Assembly for re-organizing the Georgia Militia passed December 14, 1863.

Georgia raised three militia regiments for service in the Spanish-American War (April-December 1898). All three regiments were sworn into service by mid-May, 1898. They were discharged from service on November 18, 1898.

The documentation of every casualty from Georgia in the Great War.

The cards show names, serial number, race, residence, place and date of enlistment or induction, place of birth, age, former service records, rank and discharge date. Some records also list date of birth, promotions, principal stations, wounds or other injuries received in action.

Searchable PDF file of Civil War veterans. Use Ctrl+F to search for individual names.

This database of Black Hawk War Veterans includes the muster rolls for all of the 1831 and 1832 companies including 2 Indian companies.

The database contains information about over 285,000 soldiers from Illinois who served in the Union Army during the War of the Rebellion.

This database indexes names of 5,610 Illinois citizens appearing on the rosters of Missouri's Federal Civil War units.

This record of approximately 3,000 men came from the Illinois Adjutant General. The database includes the name and birthplace of each sailor.

Contains the names of approximately 6,500 men, organized into the First through the Fourth Regiments and four independent companies, are found in the 1882 report and the 1902 republication. As the Fifth and Sixth Regiments did not see active service, the publications do not include rosters for these units.

This database contains more than 14,000 entries. It indexes the names of male residents of the Illinois Soldiers' and Sailors' Home admitted from its opening in 1887 through September 1916. Female residents are also included from their first admissions in 1908 through September 1916.

Search by name, unit, company, and residence. The names of approximately 11,000 men, organized into 10 regiments, are found in its pages.

This database indexes the names of Illinois militiamen listed on the War of 1812 muster rolls included in the ninth volume of the Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Illinois (1902).

This database indexes the names of 412 militiamen found on 1827 company rosters of the 20th Regiment of mounted volunteer riflemen.

Search application packets from the Kentucky Department of Confederate Pensions (1912 - 1946)

The index may contain dates of birth, death and place of death and burial. The Index covers King Philip's War through World War I.

Browse or search through musters for the American Revolution and the Civil War.

Comprehensive index of information pertaining to soldiers, sailors and marines who served in Massachusetts units and regiments during the Civil War. Includes names and regiments only.

A work in progress, this database includes name, age, birth place, occupation, entry date, discharge date, rank, company, regiment, and discharge cause.

Records include name, alias, birth date, death date, unit, cemetery, and location for Civil War Union soldiers.

Browse Army by name, Navy by county, Marine by county, or associated correspondence. Cards include name, race, city, birth date, company, status, and discharge data.

The Missouri State Archives holds nearly 1½ million pages that document the service of Missourians in domestic and foreign wars between 1812 and World War I. These military records primarily consist of individual service cards, but the extensive collection also includes muster rolls, special orders, reports, and more.

Contain admissions for residents from June 25, 1897 through February 15, 1929. Information given in the register may include name, admission date and number, friends or near kin, service record, date and place of birth, age on admission, amount of pension, nature of disability, occupation, marital status, literacy, church and lodge memberships.

Index that often includes name, unit served, GAR post number, GAR post city, and GAR post county.

Search WWI draft cards from 1917-1918. Records often include name, birth date, birthplace, and city/county.

Index that only gives name and regiment.

The cards, which are organized by name, often include the name of the spouse, address, date of marriage, date of death, and information about the veteran’s military service.

The cards, which are organized by name, often include the name of the spouse, address, date of marriage, date of death, and information about the veteran’s military service.

Index of over 10,000 records.

Scans of handwritten pension claims.

Searchable database that given names of substitutes and the person they served for. Lists regiment and company.

The documents usually provide proof of service, records of payments, medical evaluations, and statements of disability from the local court. Details about military service and the applicant's family may also be included. Most of the claims are for Revolutionary War service, but also some for French and Indian War (1754–1763) and Dunmore's War (1774).

This collection consists of over 2,800 applications of Confederate veterans who were admitted to the R.E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home in Richmond, Virginia.

Browse through the scanned roster published in 1916 by the Ohio Adjutant General's Office.

Scan of microfilm role of the Eleventh Census of the United States, 1890.

Browse Confederate and Union veterans by county or last name. Takes you to PDFs.

The web site consists of two indexes (by Last Name and Town) of Grand Army of the Republic comrades whose deaths were listed in the South Dakota G.A.R. Annual Journals from 1884 to 1937. Browse by last name or town. Takes you to PDFs.

his website includes information on the complete roster of the 1st Regiment, South Dakota Volunteer Infantry in the Spanish American War, 1898. Browse by last name, town, and company. Takes you to PDFs.

The Veterans in this list are those who are buried in South Dakota and fought in various wars including the Civil War, Dakota Indian Wars, Spanish American War, Philippine Insurrection, Mexican Boarder service and World War I.

Search by first name, last name, keywords, and database source. Databases include Civil War, WWI, Spanish-American War, and War of 1812.

Searchable index to records related to individual service in a Texas military unit, including both official service record files from the Adjutant General's Office and alphabetical files created by other agencies. Includes scans of actual documents.

Index of names, counties of residence, and pension numbers of some 54,634 approved, rejected, and home pensions issued by the Texas government between 1899 and 1975.

The disability applications are searchable by the name of the veteran, the veteran's place of residence (city, county, or state), and the year of the act. Possible years are 1882, 1883, 1884, and 1886–87.

This collection consists of pension applications and amended applications filed by resident Virginians who served in the Confederate military and their widows, as well as more than 500 enslaved and free Blacks who labored as cooks, herdsmen, laborers, servants, or teamsters.

The database currently includes the names of all enrolled students from Virginia Military Institute's opening in 1839 through the World War II era. In addition, you will find biographical and genealogical information, including a summary of military service during the Civil War, for many individuals who attended in the 19th century. Also includes U. S. Army students sent to VMI for training during World Wars I and II.

Military Service Record and Nurses' Questionnaires submitted by WWI military and civilian personnel. Also includes content submitted by counties and cities such as draft board records, solider biographies, and military unit histories.

Includes state and country records, National Guard 1885-1907, Korean War Bonus Claims, Orting Soldiers Home 1891-1987, Retsil Veterans Home 1910-1977, WWI Statement Cards, and more.

Database of Civil War soldiers who fought for the Union. Includes name, rank, company, unit, roll date, and more.

Search by name, war, county and keyword.

Use Ctrl+F to search this PDF document for specific names.

More than 227,000 entries of male and female Kansas veterans of the armed forces who served between September 16, 1940 and June 30, 1946.

Small collection of military records and indexes. Many records include name, rank, and status.