Skip to main content
Arkansas State University

RN to BSN Research Guide: Home

This guide will point you to resources to assist you in your research during your transition from RN to BSN.

Nursing and Health Professions Resource Guide

Online degrees are a lot of work, and the research requirements don't make things any easier. But that's where librarians can help! We can help you navigate the confusing world of research to find the best, most reliable sources of information. Please don't hesitate to contact us by email, phone, in person, or our 24-7 chat service.

 

This guide is intended to help you find both print and online nursing and health professions resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu.

 
         Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch:
 
       
     Book Icon   Search for books, dvds, journals and more with our Library Catalog Search:
 

 
Enter your search:



 
   

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.

Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.

For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.

Research Databases

Databases with green All Full Text or partially green Partial Full Text icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Document Delivery.

To view all our Nursing and Health Profession databases, click here.

To view all our databases, click here.

CONTACT US

Email Icon  refdesk@astate.edu

   (870) 972-3077

chat loading...

WORDS TO USE

WORDS TO USE

Nursing covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:

  • Allied Health
  • Critical Care
  • Decision Making
  • Emergency
  • Ethics
  • Evidence-Based
  • Gender
  • Geriatric
  • Healthcare
  • Law
  • Leadership
  • Method
  • Nurses
  • Nurse Practitioner
  • Nursing
  • Patient Care
  • Pediatric
  • Procedures
  • Public Health
  • Research
  • Teaching
  • Techniques
  • Theory

If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:

Nursing AND "decision making"

You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.