Nursing and Health Professions Resource Guide
Online degrees are a lot of work, and the research requirements don't make things any easier. But that's where librarians can help! We can help you navigate the confusing world of research to find the best, most reliable sources of information. Please don't hesitate to contact us by email, phone, in person, or our 24-7 chat service.
This guide is intended to help you find both print and online nursing and health professions resources. This guide is only a starting point for your research, it is not meant to be a comprehensive list of resources. If you need further assistance, please visit the Service Desk in the library or contact your librarian, Robert Robinette, at rrobinette@astate.edu.
 |
Search for articles, ebooks, journals, books, media and more with OneSearch: | ||
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
SCHOLARLY OR NOT?
Scholarly and peer reviewed are your "academic" articles. These are the ones that deal directly with research, history, or theory. Most likely, your professor wants you to use these types of articles. These types of articles are written by scholars, experts in the field often associated with a university or an organization. Peer reviewed articles must also be approved by a group of scholars before being published to ensure that the research presented is factual and relevant. Not everyone can get peer reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are usually ones that you read for entertainment. These are usually the type of publications that you find at the grocery store checkout. Chances are if there's a celebrity on the cover, it's a popular magazine.
For a more in-depth look at the differences, please visit our Scholarly Journals guide.
Literature Review Video Tutorial!
Research Databases
Databases with green 
or partially green 
icons offer some level of free, full-text articles. In most cases, you must be affiliated with A-State to view the article or on the A-State campus. Some database offer a "pay-per-view" service where you can buy an article not available for free and have immediate access. If you do not need immediate access to the article, you may also request it through Interlibrary Loan for free. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan can take 2-5 business days to come in, depending on the lending library. You can also digital scans from our physical collection through Digital Delivery.
To view all our Nursing and Health Profession databases, click here.
To view all our databases, click here.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE citations and additional life science journals.
***Clicking on "LinkOut - more resources" under each entry will bring up a list of links to the full articles outside the PubMed database. Some articles will be available for free, others for a fee. Make sure to check each link - one link may provide free access, another may not. - OvidSP (search multiple Ovid databases simultaneously) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text to scientific, technical and medical journals.
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. - Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answers nurses’ clinical questions. This expanded resource includes multimedia (e.g. videos and images), nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management continuing education modules, additional skills, and more! - UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.
*Note this database requires authentication through our campus EZproxy system for both on-campus users as well as off-campus users. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowSystematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of high quality medical research.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowPart of PubMed Central family of journals. Additional content specific to biomedicine. Most articles are available for free. Limited articles may be bought for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Full text limited to issues that the library currently owns in paper. Use the advanced search and selected "Subscribed Sources" to view free, full-text articles. Articles with a green icon are free for A-State students, staff and faculty. Items with a white icon may be purchased through the database for immediate access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowFreely available information on health conditions, prescriptions, physicians, hospitals, and more.
- Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 17 ProQuest databases simultaneously. Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. - Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowMostly full-text, broad subject database with strong coverage in many subject areas.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowover 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research dating back to 1799. Items with an open lock icon are available for for free. Items without an icon may be purchased through the database for immediate 24-hour access or requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Links over 175,000 pages of reference content with advanced search and discovery tools.
(870) 972-3077|
chat loading...
|
WORDS TO USE
WORDS TO USE
Nursing covers a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- Allied Health
- Critical Care
- Decision Making
- Emergency
- Ethics
- Evidence-Based
- Gender
- Geriatric
- Healthcare
- Law
- Leadership
- Method
- Nurses
- Nurse Practitioner
- Nursing
- Patient Care
- Pediatric
- Procedures
- Public Health
- Research
- Teaching
- Techniques
- Theory
If you want to combine keywords, use the connector AND between terms:
Nursing AND "decision making"
You can learn more about connectors in our Boolean Searching guide.
